Role of CSIS

CSIS is at the forefront of Canada's national security establishment, employing some of the country's most dedicated and capable men and women.

The Service's role is to investigate activities suspected of constituting threats to the security of Canada, and to report on these to the Government of Canada. CSIS may also take measures to reduce threats to the security of Canada in accordance with well-defined legal requirements and Ministerial Direction.

CSIS collects and analyzes threat-related information, which is typically disseminated to government partners through intelligence reports and other intelligence products. Key threats include terrorism, the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, espionage, foreign interference and cyber-tampering affecting critical infrastructure. CSIS programs are proactive and pre-emptive.

Through its Security Screening Program, CSIS prevents non-Canadians who pose security concerns from entering Canada or receiving permanent resident status or citizenship. The Service also safeguards the confidential information of the Government of Canada from foreign governments and other entities that may present a risk.

However, countering terrorist violence is the top priority for CSIS. Terrorism, which has become a global phenomenon, is a very real threat to our national security. Terrorists and their supporters come from a variety of countries, cultures, political systems and socio-economic backgrounds. They include both highly educated elites and more humble "foot soldiers." Followers are recruited from around the world, including our own country. CSIS strives to prevent terrorist acts from being planned in Canada, from occurring on Canadian territory and from affecting Canadian citizens and assets abroad.

CSIS activities and services can be grouped in the following categories:

Role of Other Departments and Agencies

While CSIS is at the forefront of Canada's national security system, several Canadian government departments and agencies also provide services that, taken together, help to ensure the safety and protection of Canadians.

Key Federal Government Departments

Key departments of the Government of Canada involved in the Canadian security and intelligence community include the following:

  • Public Safety Canada: Provides national leadership in assuring the viability and resilience of Canada's critical infrastructure and for ensuring national civil emergency preparedness. Together with partners in criminal justice and security, the department is also responsible for protecting the public and maintaining a just, peaceful and safe society. Partner agencies include the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Canada Border Services Agency, the Canada Firearms Centre, the Correctional Services of Canada and the National Parole Board.
  • Department of National Defence: Assesses foreign political and military information, and scientific and technical information. It provides the government with an around-the-clock intelligence watch on developments abroad that could affect Canada or Canadians. The Canadian Forces also maintain at high readiness a counter-terrorism unit prepared to rescue hostages or undertake other action in response to a counter-terrorist incident.
  • Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada: Manages Canada's day-to-day relations with the governments and people of other nations. The department leads the country's efforts in developing effective international responses to security issues in forums such as the United Nations and the G-8. Its security and intelligence responsibilities include helping protect Canadians and Canadian government facilities abroad, supporting Canadians abroad who are victims of terrorism, managing such issues as the expulsion of foreign diplomats from Canada for security reasons and can denying passports to those who represent a security risk.
  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada: Oversees the federal government's immigration and citizenship policies and programs. As such, it helps to ensure that immigrants, refugees, and visitors who come to Canada do not represent a risk. It has the authority to deny access to this country to those coming from abroad, revoke Canadian citizenship, and deport people from Canada.
  • Department of Justice Canada: Provides legal advice and services to federal government departments and agencies. In CSIS' case, on-site legal counsels ensure the legality of its security and intelligence activities. Senior Justice counsels also serve on various committees that guide and coordinate the security and intelligence community's activities.
  • Transport Canada: Sets and enforces security standards for Canada's air, land, and water transportation systems, and directs the transportation industry to take appropriate security measures to deal with threats.

Key Federal Government Agencies

Key agencies of the Government of Canada involved in the Canadian security and intelligence community include the following:

  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Enforces federal laws, investigates criminal offences related to espionage and terrorism and collects and analyzes evidence to support prosecutions in court.
  • Communications Security Establishment: Provides the government with foreign intelligence by collecting and analyzing information captured on foreign radio, radar, and other electronic signals, and reporting its findings to the appropriate authorities. The CSE also helps to ensure that the Canadian government's telecommunications are secure from interception, disruption, manipulation, or sabotage.
  • Canada Border Services Agency: Manages Canada's borders by administering and enforcing the regulations that govern trade and travel as well as international agreements and conventions. The agency provides the first line of defence in preventing inadmissible people, such as terrorists, undeclared foreign Intelligence Officers, and criminals, from entering Canada. The agency plays a key role in detecting attempts by foreigners to smuggle weapons/bomb elements (conventional or weapons of mass destruction) into Canada.
  • Privy Council Office: Coordinates the Government of Canada's policies relating to the security and intelligence activities of all federal departments and agencies, and promotes international intelligence relationships.
  • National Security Advisor: Advises the Prime Minister on security matters and strengthens the capacity of the Privy Council Office to develop and implement an integrated policy on national security and emergencies. The Advisor supports the Security, Public Health, and Emergency Committee to Cabinet, and coordinates integrated threat assessments and inter-agency cooperation among security organizations through the Integrated Terrorism Assessment Centre.
  • Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada: (FINTRAC) Receives, analyzes, assesses and discloses financial intelligence on suspected money laundering, terrorist financing, and threats to the security of Canada.
  • Canadian Air Transport Security Authority: Protects the public by securing critical areas of the Canadian air transportation system.
Date modified:

Rôle du SCRS

Le SCRS occupe une place de premier plan au sein de l’appareil de la sécurité nationale au Canada, et il compte dans son effectif certaines des personnes les plus dévouées et les plus compétentes au pays.

Le SCRS a pour rôle d’enquêter sur les activités qui pourraient constituer une menace pour la sécurité du Canada et d’en faire rapport au gouvernement du Canada. Il peut aussi prendre des mesures visant à réduire les menaces pour la sécurité du Canada dans le respect des règles de droit applicables et en conformité avec les instructions du ministre.

Le SCRS recueille et analyse des informations liées à la menace et les communique habituellement à ses partenaires fédéraux sous forme de rapports de renseignements et d’autres produits connexes. Au nombre des principales menaces figurent le terrorisme, la prolifération des armes de destruction massive, l’espionnage, l’ingérence étrangère et le cybertrafiquage visant l’infrastructure essentielle. Ses programmes sont donc proactifs et préventifs.

Grâce à son programme de filtrage de sécurité, le SCRS empêche les non‑Canadiens qui suscitent des préoccupations sur le plan de la sécurité d’entrer au Canada ou d’obtenir la résidence permanente ou la citoyenneté. Il protège aussi les informations confidentielles que détient le gouvernement du Canada afin d’en empêcher la divulgation à des gouvernements étrangers et à d’autres entités qui pourraient représenter un risque.

Le SCRS a toutefois comme priorité absolue de contrer les actes de violence terroriste. En effet, le terrorisme, un phénomène désormais mondial, représente une menace bien réelle pour notre sécurité nationale. Les terroristes et leurs partisans sont issus de pays, de cultures, de régimes politiques et de milieux socio-économiques diversifiés. Certains font partie de l’élite très instruite tandis que d’autres ne sont que de simples exécutants de milieux plus modestes. Les partisans sont recrutés partout dans le monde, y compris ici au Canada. Le SCRS s’efforce d’empêcher la planification d’actes terroristes au Canada et leur perpétration en sol canadien ainsi que de protéger contre de tels actes les citoyens et les intérêts canadiens à l’étranger.

Les activités et les services du SCRS se répartissent selon les catégories suivantes :

Rôle des autres ministères et organismes

Bien que le SCRS soit à l’avant-plan du système de sécurité nationale du Canada, plusieurs ministères et organismes du gouvernement canadien offrent également des services qui, pris ensemble, contribuent à assurer la sécurité et la protection des Canadiens.

Ministères clés du gouvernement fédéral

Les ministères clés du gouvernement du Canada qui oeuvrent dans le domaine de la sécurité canadienne et du renseignement de sécurité comprennent les suivants :

  • Sécurité publique Canada : assume la direction nationale pour ce qui est d’assurer la viabilité et la résistance de l’infrastructure essentielle du Canada et d’assurer une protection civile nationale. En collaboration avec des partenaires de la justice criminelle et de la sécurité, ce ministère est également chargé de protéger le public et de maintenir une société juste, paisible et sécuritaire. Les organismes partenaires comprennent le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, le Centre canadien des armes à feu, les Services correctionnels du Canada et la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles.
  • Ministère de la Défense nationale : évalue des renseignements politiques et militaires ainsi que de l’information scientifique et technique provenant de l’étranger. Il procure au gouvernement une surveillance 24 heures sur 24 en matière de renseignements de sécurité quant aux faits nouveaux survenant à l’étranger qui pourraient toucher le Canada ou les Canadiens. Les Forces canadiennes maintiennent également une unité antiterroriste qui est toujours prête à aller secourir des otages ou à entreprendre d’autres mesures en réponse à un incident terroriste.
  • Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada : gère les relations courantes du Canada avec les gouvernements et les peuples des autres nations. Ce ministère dirige les efforts du pays pour ce qui est d’élaborer des réponses internationales efficaces aux questions de sécurité dans des forums comme ceux des Nations Unies et du G-8. Ses responsabilités en matière de sécurité et de renseignements de sécurité comprennent le fait d’aider à protéger les Canadiens et les installations du gouvernement canadien qui se trouvent à l’étranger, d’appuyer les Canadiens victimes de terrorisme à l’étranger, de gérer des questions comme l’expulsion de diplomates étrangers en poste au Canada pour des raisons de sécurité et de refuser d’émettre un passeport aux personnes qui représentent un risque pour la sécurité.
  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada : supervise les politiques et programmes du gouvernement fédéral en matière d’immigration et de citoyenneté. À ce titre, le ministère aide à faire en sorte que les immigrants, les réfugiés et les visiteurs qui viennent au Canada ne représentent pas de risque. Il a le pouvoir de refuser à des ’étrangeres d’entrer au pays, de révoquer la citoyenneté canadienne et de déporter des personnes.
  • Ministère de la Justice Canada: fournit conseils et services juridiques aux ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral. Dans le cas du SCRS, des avocats-conseils travaillant sur place veillent à la légalité de ses activités de sécurité et de renseignements de sécurité. Des avocats-conseils supérieurs siègent également à divers comités qui orientent et coordonnent les activités du milieu de la sécurité et des renseignements de sécurité.
  • Transports Canada: établit et met en application des normes de sécurité quant aux réseaux de transport aériens, terrestres et maritimes du Canada; il ordonne à l’industrie des transports de prendre les mesures de sécurité appropriées en fonction des menaces.

Organismes clés du gouvernement fédéral

Les organismes clés du gouvernement du Canada qui participent au milieu canadien de la sécurité et du renseignement de sécurité comprennent les suivants.

  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada : fait appliquer les lois fédérales, enquête sur des infractions criminelles liées à l’espionnage et au terrorisme, en plus de recueillir et d’analyser des preuves qui permettront d’appuyer des poursuites judiciaires.
  • Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications : fournit au gouvernement des renseignements de sécurité provenant de l’étranger en recueillant et en analysant de l’information captée au moyen des stations de radio étrangères, de radars et d’autres signaux électroniques; il rend compte de ses conclusions aux autorités appropriées. Le CST veille aussi à ce que les télécommunications du gouvernement du Canada soient à l’abri de l’interception, des perturbations, de la manipulation ou du sabotage.
  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada : gère les frontières du Canada en administrant et en faisant appliquer les règlements qui régissent le commerce et les déplacements, ainsi que les ententes et les conventions internationales. L’agence assure la première ligne de défense pour ce qui est d’empêcher les personnes inadmissibles, comme les terroristes, les agents de renseignements étrangers non déclarés et les criminels d’entrer au Canada. Elle joue un rôle clé pour ce qui est de déceler les tentatives, par des étrangers, de faire passer en contrebande des armes et/ou des éléments de bombes (conventionnelles ou armes de destruction massive) au Canada.
  • Bureau du Conseil privé : coordonne les politiques du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les activités de sécurité et de renseignements pour tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux; il favorise des relations internationales en matière de renseignements de sécurité.
  • Conseiller à la sécurité nationale : conseille le premier ministre relativement aux questions de sécurité et renforce la capacité du Bureau du Conseil privé pour ce qui est d’élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre une politique intégrée en matière de sécurité nationale et de situations d’urgence. Le Conseiller appuie le Comité du Cabinet chargé de la sécurité de la santé publique et de la protection civile et coordonne des évaluations intégrées des menaces et la coopération interinstitutions entre les organismes de sécurité, par l’entremise du Centre intégré d’évaluation de terrorisme (CIET).
  • Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) : reçoit, analyse, évalue et divulgue des renseignements d’ordre financier se rapportant à des activités présumées de blanchiment d’argent, de financement de terrorisme et de menaces à la sécurité du Canada.
  • Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien : protège le public en assurant la sûreté des secteurs cruciaux du système de transport aérien du Canada.
Date de modification :