At Home and Abroad

Domestic Cooperation

CSIS is a true national service, and, as such, its resources and personnel are geographically dispersed across Canada. The CSIS National Headquarters is located in Ottawa, with Regional Offices in Halifax, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton and Burnaby. CSIS also has District Offices in St. John’s, Fredericton, Quebec City, Niagara Falls, Windsor, Winnipeg, Regina and Calgary.

The geographic configuration allows the Service to closely liaise with its numerous federal, provincial and municipal partners on security issues of mutual interest.

Additionally, CSIS has several Airport District Offices, including those at Toronto’s Pearson International Airport and at Vancouver’s International Airport. These offices support aviation security, and assist CIC and CBSA on national security issues. The CSIS Airport District Offices also provide information to their respective CSIS Regional Offices and to CSIS Headquarters, and liaise with other federal government departments and agencies that have a presence within Canada’s airports.

CSIS continues to share information on security issues with a wide variety of domestic partners. A key component of CSIS cooperation with its domestic partners remains the production and dissemination of intelligence reports and assessments such as those drafted by the Service’s Intelligence Assessments Branch and Canada’s Integrated Terrorism Assessment Centre, which is housed within CSIS headquarters.

One of CSIS’s most important domestic partners is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). Because CSIS is a civilian agency without the powers of arrest, it will alert the RCMP to security threats that rise to the level of criminality, whereupon the RCMP can initiate their own investigation and lay charges if appropriate. CSIS collects intelligence whereas law enforcement–the RCMP–collect evidence for criminal prosecution.

Over the past few years, CSIS and the RCMP continued to develop a series of protocols on information-sharing. There is a growing body of Canadian jurisprudence in this area, which the Department of Justice and the Public Prosecution Service of Canada have helped interpret for CSIS and the RCMP. The goal is to ensure that both organizations work together in a way that enhances the national security of Canada while at the same time respecting their respective legislative mandates.

To ensure that CSIS is in both practice and spirit a national service, intelligence officers get to live and work in different regions of the country during the course of their careers. One benefit of a CSIS career is the opportunity it provides to see Canada from coast-to-coast-to-coast.

Foreign Operations and International Cooperation

Over the past decade, world events have demonstrated that the threats of terrorism and espionage are not restricted by national borders. Many of the national security challenges facing Canada originate from or have a strong nexus to events, foreign governments, individuals and groups overseas.

Globalization has led to enhanced and more complex security threats from terrorism, other unlawful and violent extremist activity, espionage, weapons proliferation, illegal immigration, cyber-attacks and other acts targeting Canadians domestically and abroad. Canada’s global presence in industry, diplomacy and as travellers of the world further compounds these threats and often results in its citizens and interests being targeted or threatened by terrorist groups and hostile foreign intelligence agencies.

The international dimension of terrorism manifested in Canada is continuously demonstrated by the fact that foreign terrorists continue to inspire and provide direction to individuals and groups in Canada. Some Canadians and residents of Canada have left the country to seek training in terrorist camps in Somalia, Pakistan and elsewhere in an attempt to support or conduct terrorist operations within Canada or abroad. Additionally, over the past several years, Canadians have been kidnapped in places such as Colombia, Iraq, Afghanistan, Somalia, Kenya, Pakistan, Niger, and Sudan. Numerous Canadian businesses, their workers and Canadian diplomats abroad have also been targeted or threatened.

The intent of the CSIS Act and, indeed, the expectations of Canadians, necessitates that CSIS is vigorously pursuing the collection of security intelligence wherever that intelligence can be obtained, be it in Canada or overseas. As a result, CSIS has enhanced and continues to maintain an international presence. In today’s global environment, CSIS liaison and cooperation with its international partners remains a crucial component of our country’s ability to effectively investigate, assess and counter threats to Canada and its interests.

CSIS has officers stationed in cities and capitals around the world. Their primary function is to collect and, where appropriate, share security intelligence information related to threats to Canada, its interests and its allies with partner agencies. CSIS officers stationed abroad also provide security screening support to Canada’s Citizenship and Immigration (CIC) offices and to the security programs of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD).

Occasionally, the Service is required to send Canada-based officers abroad to respond to certain extraordinary situations. For instance, CSIS efforts have provided assistance in the evacuations of Canadians from regions in turmoil. CSIS officers, at considerable personal risk, have been dispatched to unstable countries and dangerous situations around the globe. The training, expertise and commitment of CSIS personnel is well-known in the global intelligence community.

The intelligence collected by CSIS has assisted Canadian government agencies to restrict entry to Canada of individuals who represent threats to Canadian security interests. CSIS’s efforts have also cast light on the intentions and capabilities of terrorist groups and hostile intelligence agencies that seek to target Canadians, Canadian interests and the interests of our allies.

CSIS has more than 280 arrangements with foreign agencies or international organizations in some 150 countries and territories. Of those arrangements, some 60 were defined as ‘Dormant’ by CSIS (meaning there have been no exchanges for a period of one year or more). Additionally, CSIS continued to restrict contact with eleven foreign entities due to ongoing concerns over the reliability or human rights reputations of the agencies in question, while two arrangements remained in abeyance pending an assessment of the agency’s future. Finally, one arrangement was terminated following the dissolution of the foreign agency.

For reasons of security and privacy, the Service does not publicly divulge details of the information it exchanges nor does it identify the foreign agencies in question. CSIS must protect its foreign arrangements in order to keep the relationships viable and secure. Foreign agencies expect that the information they provide to CSIS will remain confidential, just as the Service expects that any information it provides to foreign agencies will not be divulged or disseminated to a third party without the Service’s prior consent.

Canada is a global entity with interests and equities at risk from terrorism, criminality and hostile intelligence agencies. The international mosaic which helps sustain Canada as a strong, healthy nation has, at times, revealed direct associations between international terrorist groups and Canadian-based citizens and residents. These represent national security concerns which require an international response, both in terms of information sharing and collection of intelligence outside of Canada. CSIS is positioned and committed to pursuing its mandate to collect security intelligence, in Canada or overseas, in support of protecting Canadians, Canadian interests and the interests of our international partners.

Date modified:

Au pays et à l'étranger

Coopération nationale

Le SCRS est un véritable service national qui compte des ressources et des employés un peu partout au pays. En effet, son administration centrale est située à Ottawa, et il a des bureaux régionaux à Halifax, à Montréal, à Ottawa, à Toronto, à Edmonton et à Burnaby ainsi que des bureaux de district à St. John's, à Fredericton, à Québec, à Niagara Falls, à Windsor, à Winnipeg, à Regina et à Calgary.

Cette répartition géographique lui permet de collaborer étroitement avec ses nombreux partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux sur des questions de sécurité d'intérêt commun.

Par ailleurs, le SCRS compte des bureaux de district dans plusieurs aéroports, notamment à l'Aéroport international Pearson de Toronto et à l'Aéroport international de Vancouver. Ces bureaux offrent un soutien sur le plan de la sûreté aérienne et viennent en aide aux représentants de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en matière de sécurité nationale. Ils fournissent également des informations à leur bureau régional respectif et à l'Administration centrale et assurent la liaison avec les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux qui ont des agents dans les aéroports du pays.

Le SCRS a continué d'échanger des informations sur des questions de sécurité avec de nombreux partenaires canadiens. Un élément important de cette collaboration demeure la production et la diffusion de rapports et d'évaluations de renseignement, comme ceux rédigés par la Direction de l'évaluation du renseignement du SCRS et le Centre intégré d'évaluation du terrorisme, dont les locaux se trouvent à l'Administration centrale du Service.

La GRC est l'un des principaux partenaires du SCRS au Canada. Étant donné que le SCRS est un organisme civil dépourvu d'un pouvoir d'arrestation, il informe la GRC des menaces pour la sécurité qui sont considérées comme des activités criminelles. La GRC amorce alors sa propre enquête et porte, s'il y a lieu, des accusations. Le SCRS recueille des renseignements, tandis que la police – c'est-à-dire la GRC – rassemble des éléments de preuve en vue d'intenter des poursuites criminelles.

Au cours des dernières années, le SCRS et la GRC ont continué d'établir un ensemble de protocoles sur l'échange d'informations. Le ministère de la Justice et le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada aident le SCRS et la GRC à interpréter la jurisprudence canadienne toujours plus abondante dans ce domaine. L'objectif est de veiller à ce que les deux organismes collaborent pour assurer la sécurité nationale tout en respectant leur mandat respectif.

Pour garantir que le SCRS est un service national aussi bien en principe que dans la pratique, les agents de renseignement sont appelés à vivre et à travailler dans différents endroits au pays au cours de leur carrière. L'un des avantages de travailler au Service est la possibilité de découvrir le Canada d'un océan à l'autre.

Opérations à l'étranger et coopération internationale

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l'actualité mondiale a montré que le terrorisme et l'espionnage ne sont pas circonscrits par les frontières nationales. Dans de nombreux cas, les enjeux de sécurité nationale qui touchent le Canada émanent d'événements, de gouvernements, d'individus ou de groupes à l'étranger ou ils y sont fortement associés.

En raison de la mondialisation, les menaces pour la sécurité augmentent et sont plus complexes, qu'il s'agisse de terrorisme, d'autres activités extrémistes illégales et violentes, d'espionnage, de prolifération des armes, d'immigration illégale, de cyberattaques ou de tout autre acte visant des Canadiens au pays ou à l'étranger. La présence partout dans le monde d'industriels, de diplomates et de voyageurs canadiens accentue ces menaces, et il arrive souvent que des ressortissants et des intérêts canadiens soient ciblés ou menacés par des groupes terroristes et des services de renseignement étrangers hostiles.

Au Canada, la dimension internationale du terrorisme est constamment illustrée par le fait que des terroristes étrangers continuent d'inspirer et de conseiller des individus et des groupes. Des ressortissants et des résidents canadiens ont quitté le pays pour séjourner dans des camps d'entraînement de terroristes en Somalie, au Pakistan et ailleurs dans le monde dans le but de soutenir ou de perpétrer des attentats terroristes au Canada ou à l'étranger. En outre, dans les dernières années, des Canadiens ont été enlevés dans des endroits comme la Colombie, l'Irak, l'Afghanistan, la Somalie, le Kenya, le Pakistan, le Niger et le Soudan. De nombreuses entreprises canadiennes et leurs employés ainsi que des diplomates canadiens à l'étranger ont également été ciblés ou menacés.

Pour respecter l'esprit de la Loi sur le SCRS, ainsi que pour répondre aux attentes des Canadiens, le SCRS doit s'efforcer de recueillir des renseignements sur la sécurité, peu importe l'endroit où il peut les obtenir, que ce soit au Canada ou à l'étranger. Par conséquent, le SCRS renforce et maintient sa présence à l'échelle internationale. Dans le monde d'aujourd'hui, les activités de liaison et de coopération du SCRS avec ses partenaires étrangers occupent une place essentielle dans la capacité du pays d'enquêter avec efficacité sur les menaces qui pèsent sur le Canada et ses intérêts, de les évaluer et de les contrer.

Le SCRS a des agents en poste dans différentes villes et capitales de la planète. De concert avec des organismes partenaires, ces agents ont pour rôle premier de recueillir et, le cas échéant, de communiquer des renseignements de sécurité liés à des menaces qui pèsent sur le Canada et ses intérêts ainsi que sur ses alliés. Par ailleurs, ces agents aident Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada à assurer un filtrage de sécurité et ils aident également le ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à réaliser les programmes de sécurité.

Le Service doit parfois envoyer des agents à l'étranger pour intervenir dans des situations exceptionnelles, par exemple pour aider à évacuer des Canadiens se trouvant dans des régions en proie à des troubles. Au péril de leur vie, des agents du SCRS se sont retrouvés des pays instables ou dans des situations dangereuses partout dans le monde. Dans le milieu du renseignement à l'échelle mondiale, les employés du SCRS sont réputés pour leur formation, leur savoir-faire et leur dévouement.

Les renseignements recueillis par le SCRS ont aidé les organismes fédéraux à bloquer l'entrée au Canada d'individus présentant une menace pour la sécurité du Canada. Les efforts du SCRS ont également permis d'avoir une idée des intentions et des moyens de groupes terroristes et de services de renseignement hostiles qui veulent s'en prendre à des Canadiens, à des intérêts canadiens ou aux intérêts de pays alliés.

Le SCRS comptent plus de 280 ententes avec des services étrangers ou des organismes internationaux dans 150 pays et territoires. Parmi ces ententes, 60 sont « inactives » (c'est-à-dire qu'il n'y a pas eu d'échange d'informations depuis au moins un an). En outre, le SCRS continue de limiter les contacts avec onze organismes étrangers en raison de doutes concernant leur fiabilité ou de leur réputation sur le plan des droits de la personne, tandis que deux ententes demeurent en suspens en attendant une évaluation de l'avenir de l'organisme. Enfin, une entente a été résiliée en raison de la dissolution du service étranger.

Pour des raisons de sécurité et de confidentialité, le Service ne divulgue pas de détails sur les informations échangées ni ne révèle avec quels services étrangers il effectue ces échanges. Le SCRS doit protéger les ententes qu'il a conclues avec des services étrangers pour que les relations demeurent viables et confidentielles. Les services étrangers s'attendent à ce que les informations qu'ils fournissent au SCRS restent confidentielles, tout comme le SCRS s'attend à ce que les informations qu'il leur communique ne soient pas divulguées ou dévoilées à un tiers sans qu'il ait préalablement donné son consentement.

Le Canada est un pays dont les intérêts et les avoirs sont menacés par le terrorisme, la criminalité et des services de renseignement hostiles. Il a une population aux origines très variées. Cette diversité en fait un pays fort et prospère, mais elle a aussi parfois mené à la découverte de liens directs entre des groupes terroristes internationaux et des ressortissants et des résidents du Canada. Cette situation soulève des craintes pour la sécurité nationale qui nécessitent une réponse internationale, qu'il s'agisse d'échanger des informations ou de recueillir des renseignements à l'étranger. Le SCRS est déterminé à exécuter son mandat, qui est de recueillir des renseignements au Canada et à l'étranger, pour aider à protéger les Canadiens, les intérêts canadiens et les intérêts de ses partenaires étrangers.

Date de modification :